An Autonomous Institution Affiliated to Madurai Kamaraj University
  (Re-Accredited with A-Grade by NAAC - 2007)

#139-140, Kamarajar Salai, MADURAI - 625009, India
Tel: +91 452 2311875 / Fax: +91 452 2312375 /


Tamil | English | Economics | Business Administration | Commerce | Mathematics | Physics | Chemistry | Botany | Zoology | Computer Science
Others: M.Sc.Biotechnology | B.Sc.Psychology

Department of Botany


The department was established in 1965. It offers B.Sc. since 1965, M.Sc. from 1979, M.Phil. from 1985, B.Sc. Biotech from 2002, M.Sc. in Bio Resource Management (BRM) from 2007. 22 candidates have obtained their Ph.D. degrees . It has received major and minor research projects from various agencies like University Grants Commission (UGC), Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Department of Science and Technology (DST) and Fund for Improvement of S&T Infrastructure (FIST). Many doctorates have been produced from this research centre. At present, 11 scholars are engaged in research activities leading to doctoral degree. The department is a DST-FIST sponsored since 2005.

Programmes Offered
  1. Ph.D. Botany
  2. M.Phil. Botany
  3. M.Sc. Botany
  4. B.Sc. Botany
  1. B.Sc. Bio Technology
  2. Diploma in Medicinal Plants
  3. Certificate Course in Bio Pesticides
Faculty Click to Add/Edit the profile
  1. Dr.K.Rajendran M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D., B.Ed., B.Lib.Sc. 

  2. Dr.D.Kannan M.Sc., Ph.D. (H.O.D. in Charge)  

  3. Dr.E.Mohan M.Sc., M.Phil., M.L.I.Sc., B.Ed., Ph.D. 

  4. Dr.V.Karthikeyan M.Sc.,Ph.D., 

  5. Dr.Mrs.B.Sadhana M.Sc., M.Phil., ADAB., Ph.D. 

  6. Dr.K.Jegatheesan M.Sc., M.Phil., M.Tech., Ph.D., MISTE 

  7. Dr.Mrs.M.Rama Prabha M.Sc., Ph.D. 

  8. Dr.Mrs.M.Viji M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. 

  9. Dr.Mrs.K.Saraswathi M.Sc., M.Phil., PGDMB., Ph.D. 

  10. Dr.K.Sathiyadash M.Sc., Ph.D. 

  11. Dr.R.Aruna M.Sc., Ph.D. 

  12. Mrs.S.Yoga Chitra M.Sc., M.Phil. 

  13. Mrs.Siva Durga M.Sc., M.Phil. 

  14. Dr.K.Thangavel M.Sc., Ph.D. 

  15. Ms.G.Ramyavaidegi M.Sc., M.Phil. 


Site by